Journey through Foster care and adoption

Journey to completing our family

Update January 24, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — ilovelucy72 @ 1:34 am

 

DSC_7382     I cannot believe that it has been almost two years since I have updated this blog. It seems like a life time ago. So much has happened. Where do I start. Well Let me start where I left off. We were placed with Little Bit on December 20,2013. But a few weeks before we got a call that would change our lives forever. I don’t know if you remember but we decided to pursue a domestic infant adoption through our agency. We could foster and go through the domestic program at the same time. We decided to go for it because we did not know if Rick or Sheldon would be staying forever. Also, at the time we started Cutie was not with us. So for a private domestic adoption the birth mother and father choose who they want to adopt their baby. They are making a decision to place their baby with you, unlike most foster care situations. There are so many couples that wait years to be picked by a birth mother. I thought we would be one of those couples. I thought that Rick and Sheldon would probably be reunited before we got the call that a birth mother had chosen us. Boy was I wrong.

About a week after Little Bit was born Princess and I were running errands and I got a phone call from our agency. Katie, our adoption worker called and asked me if we had our profile book ready. A profile book is basically a photo book that shows birthmothers pictures and information about a prospective adopted couple. Most of the time under the pictures there are little bits of info about the couple. We had our birthmother letter but did not have a profile book ready. We had been on the waiting list for only six months. I thought I had time:) Plus I was procrastinating because I wanted it to be perfect. I told her no and then she said that we could email her a few pictures because she was meeting with a expectant mom in about two hours. So we raced home and I sent her several pictures asap. In the back of my mind I was thinking that the expectant mom would not pick us because we didn’t have a nice shiny book to show her. There was another couple that she was also being considered. So I thought that would be a great present for that couple. My mind was on Little Bit coming home any day and all that I had to get done. So Katie, our adoption worker told us she would call us back. I went about my day.

About three hours later Katie called us back(hubby was working from home). She gave us the wonderful news that the expectant mom had chosen us and that we would be meeting her in a week. She was having a little boy sometime in February!!!!

My first thoughts and feeling were panic, sheer panic. That meant we would go from having four kiddos to six in the span of two months. Two newborns. I felt nauseous. Could we do this? Did we want to? What if she changed her mind? All these questions ran through our minds. After the initial shock wore off we new that we had a lot accomplish before our “twins” came. I will write more about what happened after we got the call later. Until next time…..

Oh I forgot to add that this precious little baby in the picture is our six little blessing:) I will tell you more about him later.

 

Leave a Reply

